ASSAULT IN MD
Two general types of assault exist in Maryland under Sections 3-202 and 3-203 of the criminal Code of Maryland. Section 3-202 covers the more serious of the two, namely felony assault in the first degree. Although classified as a misdemeanor, second degree assault is still a serious criminal charge that can result in a penalty of up to 10 years’ imprisonment and a $2,500 fine. A Maryland defense lawyer with Price Benowitz can help you achieve the best possible outcome if you are facing charges of assault or domestic violence. A free initial consultation can help you determine whether pleading down felony charges is possible in your particular case. More information on Maryland assault laws is available here.
Maryland state law also covers a variety of different laws regarding assault and domestic violence, which differ in penalties based on the nature of the alleged crime. For example, assault on a law enforcement officer, probation officer, or parole agent is a very serious accusation in the state, carrying a possible penalty of 10 years’ imprisonment and a $5,000 fine, detailed under Section 3-203(c)(2).
ASSAULT IN DC
In Washington, DC, a person may be charged with simple assault (misdemeanor), assault with significant injury, or aggravated assault. Simple assault is when a person makes an attempt or effort, with the use of violence, to injure another person, and at the time of the attempt has the ability to injure the person. A Washington, DC simple assault charge also requires that the action is committed voluntarily and on purpose. A simple assault offense can also be charged under an “intent to frighten” theory. Simple assault convictions in Washington, DC are punishable by a fine of up to $1,000, as well as a period of imprisonment not to exceed 180 days.